Smuttynose Gets ‘Durty’

I think I have found my perfect winter beer. 

Photo_2

I like Smuttynose. I think their Big A IPA is delicious. I like their branding. New Hampshire is my favorite state.  And, full disclosure: I know their brewmaster, he’s a friend of a friend.

All of this biases me toward their beer, but in their Smuttynose Short Batch #18 – Durty I found something I didn’t even know I was looking for: a hoppy brown ale, perfect for cold weather drinking. If you can get your hands on this remarkably small distribution (25 cases in NH and MA only, or on tap at the brewery) definitely try it. 

Photo_1

Durty poured a gorgrous brown with a small, thick head. Smells super cirtusy with a hint of cocoa. First sip is a perfect mix of hops and caramel. It’s at once bright and warm, like some delicious brown bread with grapefruit zest mixed in. I would have drank this all night, but we only had one. 

Photo_4

 

Vitals:  Poured from a 22oz bottle into a tulip pint straight out of the fridge. 8.4% ABV, 55 IBU 

Taste:  A- This was my first brown IPA and it was everything I think it should be: caramely, nutty and hoppy all at once. 

Drinkability: B+  At 8.4% ABV I’m not sure I could drink more than one or two but it’s smooth with no overwhelming alcohol taste. Perfect for splitting with a friend.

Packaging: Different from your typical Smuttynose branding. I wouldn’t have recognized it on the shelf, but I like it. Each bottle is labeled with the number from production. We drank #544 of 828. 

Photo_3

 

Leave a Reply

